Saturday October 07, 2006
HOSTS Workington won the Premier Fours at Derwent Park on Saturday - with the Pirtek Tigers finishing on the rostrum in third place.

Sheffield stormed through their group, dropping just four points in the eight races - and three of them came when skipper Andre Compton had mechanical failure in his first outing!

Ricky Ashworth and Kyle Legault won both of their rides with Ben Wilson adding five points as Tigers went through along with King's Lynn - Rye House and Newcastle going home at that stage.

But in the Final it was group B qualifiers Workington and Somerset who raced clear in the early stages, and it always looked like being a battle between them for the top prize.

Tigers scored just four points from the first six races but then mounted a strong fightback to ease clear of King's Lynn and be just two points adrift of Somerset, for whom Magnus Zetterstrom rode through the whole meeting unbeaten.

However, Workington clinched the Fours title in Heat 11 as after Rusty Harrison had tangled with Ashworth and been ruled out of the re-run, Alan Mogridge came in for his last-ever ride in speedway - and won it.

Final Result: Workington 23, Somerset 21, Sheffield 16 (A.Compton 5, B.Wilson 4, K.Legault 4, R.Ashworth 3), King's Lynn 12.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter