Wednesday January 11, 2023
SHEFFIELD'S Jack Holder has been crowned the new Australian Champion.

The Tru Plant Tigers' No.1 has enjoyed a solid four round series and got the job done by claiming victory in North Brisbane on Wednesday.

2017 World Champion and Ipswich star Jason Doyle had won all three of the opening events putting him in pole position to regain the title.

But an impressive run saw Holder just three points behind him in the overall standings and a tense finale was highly anticipated.

Unsurprisingly, both made it through to the Semi-Finals - and when Doyle was eliminated in the first, Holder knew the task in hand.

He won his Semi to qualify before pulling off an early pass to get by Max Fricke in the Final to earn his first senior national title.

Said Holder: “It feels amazing.

"I’ve worked so hard for this and spent a lot of money on bringing my good stuff back from Europe.

“I’m pretty speechless at the moment but wow, number one!”

FINAL AUSTRALIAN CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1st Jack Holder 63, 2nd Jason Doyle 61, 3rd Max Fricke 53, 4th Rohan Tungate 51, 5th Brady Kurtz 45, 6th Josh Pickering 39, 7th Justin Sedgmen 38, 8th Chris Holder 37, 9th Zach Cook 28, 10th Zane Keleher 22, 11th James Pearson 16, 12th Zaine Kennedy 14, 13th Ryan Douglas 12, =14th Sam Masters 8, =14th Ben Cook 8, 15th Patrick Hamilton 7, 16th Jye Etheridge 5, 17th Cooper Riordan 4, 18th Fraser Bowes 3, =19th Brayden McGuinness 2, =19th Michael West 2.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter