Thursday April 25, 2024
SHEFFIELD opened their WSRA National Development League campaign with a hard-fought 48-42 home win over Middlesbrough.

The Autocraft Tiger Cubs found themselves six points down with five gone at Owlerton but dug deep to turn things around.

Temporary No.1 Jack Smith led from the front, dropping his only point in Heat 15 - the same race that fellow heat-leader Ace Pijper was also denied a paid maximum of his own by Ben Trigger.

Stene Pijper, who only turned 16 earlier this month, rode admirably in his first NDL fixture as he picked up three second places from his four outings.

Sheldon Davies looked very competitive on his return to the third tier, managing a win in Heat Eight having been denied victory in the opener when his chain snapped on the final lap whilst leading, causing plenty of damage to his equipment.

Mickie Simpson recovered from an exclusion in his first ride to chip in with 4+2 whilst Luke Harrison and Kean Dicken both battled all night long.

Team Manager Simon Lambert said: “I thought it was a great performance from all the boys.

“They all contributed which was really pleasing and I am very proud of them all.

“For Stene Pijper to go and get 6+1 in his first ever competitive meeting on the 500cc’s deserves a special mention from me though - if that boy could gate, he wouldn’t have got beaten because he was carrying some proper speed.

“But as I said, they’ve all impressed me in their own way and to get a win in our first meeting is pretty cool.

“I really am chuffed and we’re all ready to go again with the next one.”

The Autocraft Tiger Cubs are next in action away to Leicester on Sunday, May 19 (3pm).

Elsewhere, Sheffield Tigers saw their scheduled Premiership fixture at Ipswich postponed less than an hour before start time due to wet weather.
A new date is to be confirmed.

SHEFFIELD 48: Jack Smith 14, Ace Pijper 12+2, Stene Pijper 6+1, Luke Harrison 5, Mickie Simpson 4+2, Sheldon Davies 4, Kean Dicken 3+2.
MIDDLESBROUGH 42: Ben Trigger 11, Jamie Halder 10, Jake Mulford 7, Danny Phillips 5+1, Ben Rathbone 4+2, Kai Ward 4+1, William Hocaniuk 1+1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter